A Home Inspector’s Weblog by Frank Schulte-Ladbeck

exploring homes and the lives in them around Houston

A Romantic Place to Live in Houston: Maybe you can find it with DotHomes

As in the previous post, how do we define what is romantic? I think that it is tied with our memories. When I was younger, I wanted to live in a development that imitated a European village inside the city. I thought what a great place to live and work. Work/live developments are becoming more common projects for developers, but that concept was out in my youth.

Should I mention places to live near the locations of my romantic trip? Well, downtown has more condos springing up, and not too far away from downtown, communities are going through a rebirth. Townhomes seem to be the big deal in this new growth. I have a tendency to recall Erich Fromm’s book The Art of Loving. Love is not a spur of the moment emotion; it requires our involvement and effort. In this regard, could not the home we live in become the most romantic spot in our lives, if we want it to be.

I thought that it might be fun to look at some of the more expensive dream homes in my area. I went on to the site, http://www.dothomes.com , to look for the extravagant offerings around my area. I used the “I’m feeling wealthy” button. I guess that I need to have a couple of million to spend for that kind of dream home.

I spoke to one of the DotHomes site founders about two weeks ago. He and his team are working hard to make this site a success in the US. They do have a sense of humor, and they will be incorporating this into future developments on the site. If you are comfortable with Google, you will like DotHomes. It is a good way to search for your dream home.

Well, I need to go work on the garden. I want to add some color in the beds for Valentine’s Day tomorrow. What will you be doing to make your home romantic? Or where would you like to live? Have fun exploring houses on DotHOmes.

1 Comment»

  BYTEPLAY » Blog Archive » For US listing brokers wrote @

[…] You Feeling Wealthy? DotHomes Enters the US Market: An Introduction for the Public and Realtors ; A Romantic Place To Live In Houston: Maybe You Can Find It With DotHomes ; DotHomes takes full text-search to the US ; UK property search engine aims to break into US […]


Leave a Reply

